Key Partners

William M. Steigerwaldt

Compass Land Consultants’ (CLC) senior appraiser is William M. Steigerwaldt. Bill is a licensed certified general appraiser in Wisconsin, Minnesota, and Michigan, and a licensed broker in Wisconsin and Minnesota. He has over 30 years of appraisal experience in timberland, lake and river tracts, and all types of recreational property in the United States. Bill brings both national and regional perspectives to CLC’s real estate and appraisal services having worked on projects in 17 states and 2 provinces in Canada. Some of Bill’s clients include federal and state agencies, TIMOs, forest industry, conservation organizations, lending institutions, and private landowners.
bill@compasslandconsultants.com

Jeffrey A. Olson

Jeffrey A. Olson is a certified general appraiser licensed in Wisconsin, Minnesota, and Michigan. Jeff has 23 years of experience in the business and brings both national and regional experience to CLC’s real estate and appraisal services having worked on projects in eight states and Canada. Some past projects and clients include the State of Wisconsin DNR, State of Wisconsin DOT, high-voltage transmission line easement appraisals, conservation easement appraisals, partial taking appraisals, golf course appraisals, trail corridor appraisals, appraisals for the USDA Forest Service, and large timberland appraisals for various investment companies. Jeff also provides litigation support, appearing as an expert witness in numerous jury trials in Wisconsin.
jeff@compasslandconsultants.com

Ryan Nelson

Ryan “Nate” Nelson is a certified general appraiser licensed in Michigan and Wisconsin. Nate leads Compass Land Consultants’ Michigan appraisal team. He holds degrees in forestry and environmental studies, and he brings a unique perspective on forestland and easement appraisals. His vast experience in all aspects of forest management makes him ideally suited for timberland valuation assignments. Some of Nate’s projects and clients include conservation easement appraisals, specialty property valuation, and timberland investment appraisals for the USDA Forest Service, the State of Michigan DNR, the State of Wisconsin DNR, investment companies, conservation organizations, and private landowners.
nate@compasslandconsultants.com

Chris Fink

Chris Fink is CLC’s forestry operations manager. Chris currently oversees all aspects of land management on 128,000 acres of Forest Stewardship Council (FSC) certified timberland in the Upper Peninsula. His experience with timber inventory, timber sale administration, and general land management issues make him ideally suited for this position as he has dedicated his career to the sound, responsible management of the timber resource.
chris@compasslandconsultants.com

Jon Fosgitt

Jon Fosgitt is a forest management specialist with CLC. Jon currently manages 24,000 acres of FSC certified land for a large national conservation organization. Jon’s lengthy experience with silvicultural systems has helped him develop alternative management regimes, with a focus on forestland restoration. In addition to this responsibility, Jon oversees CLC’s client development and relations on operations, and frequently helps clients with policy and planning projects.
jon@compasslandconsultants.com

Todd Bishop

Todd Bishop is CLC’s resident GIS and technical services expert. Todd learned his trade while working in the pulp and paper industry, and he has a depth of experience not frequently seen in the consulting service sector. Todd’s responsibilities are numerous, and he is frequently involved in projects with CLC’s large clients, appraisal services, and inventory projects. In addition, Todd also has experience in Growth and Yield modeling and developing resource availability studies throughout the Midwest.
todd@compasslandconsultants.com

Minocqua Office

7750 U.S. Highway 51 South
P.O. Box 846
Minocqua, WI 54548
Phone: 715-358-0600

Staff:
Amy Meurer – amy@compasslandconsultants.com
Bill Steigerwaldt – bill@compasslandconsultants.com
Calvin Hettwer – calvin@compasslandconsultants.com
Dan Schummer – dan@compasslandconsultants.com
Jeff Olson - jeff@compasslandconsultants.com
Jeremy Chiamulera – jeremy@compasslandconsultants.com
Jon Long - jonlong@compasslandconsultants.com
Sara Chiamulera – sara@compasslandconsultants.com
Stacey Hensen – stacey@compasslandconsultants.com
Tammy Loka – tammy@compasslandconsultants.com

Hayward Office

15433 County Highway B
Hayward, WI 54843
Phone: 715-934-2030

Staff:
Mike Forster – mike@compasslandconsultants.com
Doug Johnson – doug@compasslandconsultants.com

AuTrain Office

E5539 Woodland Avenue
AuTrain, MI 49806
Phone: 906-892-8665

Staff:
Chris Fink – chris@compasslandconsultants.com
Gary Virta
Jon Fosgitt – jon@compasslandconsultants.com
Nate Nelson – nate@compasslandconsultants.com
Todd Bishop – todd@compasslandconsultants.com